Eloise Ramsey believed that it was important for future teachers to take courses in children's literature. She provided over 400 rare or notable books to start this collection, which is now part of the Special Collections in the Wayne State University library system. Important books from this collection have been digitized for online access.
Contains many free books sorted for children of different ages. Selections range from toddlers to young adults. You can read them online or download the books in PDF format for free.
From the Ball State University Digital Media Repository. Includes monographs published during the 19th and 20th centuries for youth. The books feature songs, rhymes, games, fairy tales, histories, and morality tales for children.
The ICDL Foundation's goal was to build a collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world. The ICDL Foundation promoted tolerance and respect for diverse cultures by providing access to the best of children's literature from around the world.
*Note: there is no new content since 2019.
This special collection presents children’s books selected from the General and Rare Book Collections at the Library of Congress. The collection includes classic works that are still read by children today, and lesser-known treasures drawn from the Library’s extensive collection of historically significant children’s books. The books in this collection were published in the United States and England before 1924, are no longer under copyright, and are free to read, share, and reuse however you’d like.
An intelligent tool that helps busy parents save time by identifying more books that are uniquely suited to the interests and reading skills of their children. MoBoo helps children advance by suggesting engaging and challenging titles.
Storynory offers free audiobooks for kids, with a mix of classics, fairy tales, and original stories. They’re meant for kids, of course, but they’re really for anybody who wants to hear Brothers Grimm folk tales, Aesop’s fables, or stories from 1,001 Nights again.
Run by educators and writers who want to bring the joy of reading to every home. They have published almost 200 digital books in the free library and have narrations available in multiple languages.
