Westmoreland County Community College Library: Generative AI Faculty Research Guide: News and Opinions on AI

Google to Flag AI- Generated Images

Google Will Begin Flagging AI-Generated Images in Search in Late 2024
9/17/24

News and Opinions on AI

"How AI Could Save (Not Destroy) Education by Sal Khan is licensed CC-BY-NC 4.0 International

Sal Khan, the founder and CEO of Khan Academy, thinks artificial intelligence could spark the greatest positive transformation education has ever seen. He shares the opportunities he sees for students and educators to collaborate with AI tools -- including the potential of a personal AI tutor for every student and an AI teaching assistant for every teacher -- and demos some exciting features for their educational chatbot, Khanmigo.

'This Shouldn’t be a Surprise' The Education Community Shares Mixed Reactions to ChatGPT
2/2/23
AI Policy Briefs
The MIT Schwarzman College of Computing and the MIT Washington Office are leading an effort to produce policy briefs with recommendations on the governance of AI. The goal of these briefs is to help shape a technically informed discussion of how to govern AI in a way that will make it safe while enabling AI to thrive.
AI Search Could Break the Web
10/31/24
Artificial Intelligence and the Law
12/5/2023
ChatGPT: Or How I Stopped Worrying and Learned to Love the Bot
3/1/23
ChatGPT Has Entered the Classroom: How LLMs Could Transform Education
11/15/23
ChatGPT is Bullshit
6/8/24
Does AI Understand Common Sense?
2/20/24
Generative AI in Higher Education: From Fear to Experimentation, Embracing AI’s Potential
4/25/23
How the Pervasive Copying of Expressive Works to Train and Fuel Generative Artificial Intelligence Systems Is Copyright Infringement And Not a Fair Use
10/31/23
How Well Can ChatGPT Answer Library Reference Questions? Two Academic Librarians put ChatGPT to the Test
7/31/23
Just How Intelligent is Artificial Intelligence?
2/20/24
Landmark AI Deal Sees Hollywood Giant Lionsgate Provide Library for AI Training
9/18/24
More Than Half Of College Students Believe Using ChatGPT To Complete Assignments Is Cheating
3/20/23
A New Kind of AI Copy Can Fully Replicate Famous People. The Law Is Powerless.
12/30/23
Opinion: Here's how AI is helping me get through college (Hint: It doesn't involve cheating)
6/19/23
Paper exams, chatbot bans: Colleges seek to 'ChatGPT-proof' assignments
10/31/23
Sam Altman catapults past founder mode into ‘god mode’ with latest AI post
9/23/24
What is ChatGPT Doing...and Why Does It Work?
2/14/23
What is ChatGPT – Why College Students Should Avoid Using it for Assignments
3/16/23
What Will Determine AI's Impact on College Teaching? 5 Signs to Watch.
9/8/23
Why Some College Professors are Embracing ChatGPT
5/9/23

Mystery AI Hype Theater Podcast

Mystery AI Hype Theater 3000

"Artificial Intelligence has too much hype. In this podcast, linguist Emily M. Bender and sociologist Alex Hanna break down the AI hype, separate fact from fiction, and science from bloviation. They're joined by special guests and talk about everything, from machine consciousness to science fiction, to political economy to art made by machines." - from site

Lawsuits

DAIL - the Database of AI Litigation

DAIL - the Database of AI Litigation
Information about ongoing and completed litigation involving artificial intelligence, including machine learning.
more...less...
It covers cases from complaint forward – as soon as we (George Washington University) learn of them – whether or not they generate published decisions. It is intended to be broad in scope, covering everything from algorithms used in hiring and credit and criminal sentencing decisions to liability for accidents involving autonomous vehicles. It also includes some cases concerning statistical analysis and data protection that may not directly involve artificial intelligence, but that are of particular relevance to AI projects. It includes cases addressing whether AIs can be authors of works protected by copyright law, or inventors of inventions protected by patent law, but it does not include litigation concerning patents that may involve artificial intelligence or machine learning.

Ethics

AI Incident Database
Dedicated to indexing the collective history of harms or near harms realized in the real world by the deployment of artificial intelligence systems. Like similar databases in aviation and computer security, the AI Incident Database aims to learn from experience in order to prevent or mitigate bad outcomes.
AI Is a Tool, and Its Values Are Human Values
by Fei-Fei Li, Sara Frueh.
Spring 2024.
Critical Thinking and Ethics in the Age of Generative AI in Education
2/24. From the USC Center for Generative AI and Society.
NewsGuard AI Tracking Center
"...intended to highlight the ways that generative AI has been deployed to turbocharge misinformation operations and unreliable news. The Center includes a selection of NewsGuard’s reports, insights, and debunks related to artificial intelligence."
Resources for Understanding the Ethical Implications of AI
From the "Toward Inclusive Excellence" blog

Generative AI Faculty Research Guide

Blogs, Newsletters, etc.

From Educause

From the University of North Texas